Info and Links

Here is a selection of interesting and useful sustainability resources. If you’d like to suggest others please contact us.

Community & Non-Government

Arid Lands Environment Centre www.alec.org.au
Australian Conservation Foundation www.acfonline.org.au
Australian Solar Council http://solar.org.au
Bicycle NT www.bicyclent.org.au
Bicycle Network (national, based in Victoria) www.bicyclenetwork.com.au
Clean Energy Council Australia www.cleanenergycouncil.org.au
Consumption, the life-cycle of products: The Story of Stuff animations www.storyofstuff.org
Environment Centre NT www.ecnt.org
Environment Defenders Office NT http://edont.org.au
Environment Victoria http://environmentvictoria.org.au
Green Building Council Australia www.gbca.org.au
Green Moves Australia www.greenmoves.com.au
Growing and Understanding Local Produce (GULP) http://gulpnt.com
Lakeside Community Garden, Darwin www.cdu.edu.au/ldcg
Moreland Energy Foundation Ltd www.mefl.com.au
Nature Conservation Council NSW www.nature.org.au
One Planet Communities (Australia) www.oneplanetcommunities.org/category/news/australia
Sustainable Living Tasmania www.slt.org.au
Taste of the Top End blog http://tasteofthetopend.com
Transition Decade www.t10.net.au
Tropical Cuisine Cooking Blog (Cairns) http://tropicalcuisine.com
Walk to Work Day www.walk.com.au

Council

City of Darwin – Climate Change and Environment www.darwin.nt.gov.au/climate-change
City of Palmerston www.palmerston.nt.gov.au
Sustainability@The Top www.sustainabledarwin.com.au

Territory Government & Academic

Department of Lands, Planning and the Environment www.dlpe.nt.gov.au
Department of Transport www.nt.gov.au/transport/public
Department of Transport Cycling page http://www.transport.nt.gov.au/activetransport/cycling
EcoBiz – helping small to medium businesses save energy www.ecobiznt.nt.gov.au
Northern Territory Environment Protection Authority www.ntepa.nt.gov.au
PowerWater Corporation (and as of July 2014, Jacana Energy, PWC’s retail corporation) www.powerwater.com.au (http://jacanaenergy.com.au)
RIEL – Research Institute for the Environment and Livelihoods, Charles Darwin University  http://riel.cdu.edu.au

 


Federal Government

Alice Springs Solar City (Federal Solar Cities Program ran from 2008-2012) www.alicesolarcity.com.au
Bureau of Meteorology – climate change information www.bom.gov.au/climate/change
CSIRO – Greenhouse effect modelling and information www.csiro.com.au
Department of Environment www.climatechange.gov.au andwww.environment.gov.au
To find out power usage of your appliances www.energyrating.gov.au
Your Home Technical Manual www.yourhome.gov.au

Commercial

CHOICE for consumer product reviews www.choice.com.au
Energy For the People www.energyforthepeople.com.au
Liveability website by LJ Hooker www.liveability.com.au
NTRS – Northern Territory Recycling Solutions www.ntrs.com.au

International

Climate Reality Project (Al Gore and Australian Conservation Foundation) www.climatereality.org.au
Global Footprint Network (Ecological Footprint) www.footprintnetwork.org/en/index.php/GFN
Ground-Up Initiative, Singapore www.groundupinitiative.org
Live and Learn environmental education and international development www.livelearn.org
United Nations Framework on Climate Change www.unfccc.int
WWF One Planet Living wwf.panda.org/

Sustainability News

ABC News – Environment www.abc.net.au/environment
REnew Economy http://reneweconomy.com.au

Education Resources

NT Climate Hub http://ntclimatehub.org
Sustainability for Diverse Communities
(Environment Victoria)
http://environmentvictoria.org.au/sustainability-for-diverse-communities